I Love You.

24 Feb

Those are the 3 magic words every girl longs to hear. 

Research shows that saying “I love you” in under 3 months is too soon- you’re in lust, you don’t really know each other.  Research also shows that waiting longer than a year is too long- he has commitment issues, he’s not sure you’re the one.  On average, it takes a guy 7 months to say “I love you.”

But the fact is, every relationship is different.  Some are more fast-paced than others.  Some are slower-moving.  For some, it’s love at first sight.  For others, true love takes time to develop.  There’s no standard timeline that works for everyone, only you “know when you know.”

Which brings me to my next point.  Most (every?) girl can’t wait for the day when she’s told “I love you.”  But now that we’re in the 21st century, is it still assumed that the guy needs to say it first?  Is it just an old-fashioned tradition or is that the way it should be? I know plenty of girls (myself included) who have said the “L” word first.  And let’s face it… women tend to mature faster than men, tend to be more in touch with their emotions than men, and are more vocal about their feelings than men.  I have a blog about love for gosh sakes.

That’s not to say men aren’t in touch with their feelings, or aren’t thoughtful when they say “I love you” for the first time.  They think about it a lot more than we give them credit for.  I’d like to share a very creative way those 3 magic words were said for the first time.  This video is from one of my dear friends, let’s call her “Minnie.”  It’s a flip-book that her boyfriend made her for Valentine’s day.  Minnie is one lucky lady.  Take a look.

3 Responses to “I Love You.”

  1. Sassy McFiddlesticks February 24, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Ooooh ain’t that video Sassy-fying to watch? Sassy watched it about 15 times! Sassy is a real romantic too you know. Let me tell you a quick story I call: “Sassy makes a woman feel sass-exual”.

    It was a warm, Havana evening. Trumpets screeched, kids whistled and heels clicked along the wet sidewalk. I rolled up to her villa in a stolen cherry red Coup de Ville ’64. I honked not once, not twice but three times (she’s a lady). When my lady approach, Sassy gave her the wink to let her know that was “like totally on” in my woman’s parlance. The club was “The Pierna Bian Afeitados” on Fidel Blvd. and we danced and sweated and sipped a mojito and danced and sweated. That look in her eye told me it was time to leave. As I handed her a cuba libre, dripping with glass sweat, she said, “Take me home Sassy, it’s time.” So I retied my pony tail and we walked to the door stopping for a toothpick at the reception. Whilst we waited I gave that big old behind a Sassy-slap and gave her a kiss that woke the entire neighborhood.

    “That’s sexual harassment Sassy! What sort of iñterview is this?!” she asked.

    “No. It was Sass-exual harassment now get in the car or I won’t hire you.”

    A long story short, just please visit the Craiglist job posting or send Sassy your resume at Sassyloveyoulongtime@gmail.com. Sassy food ain’t gonna cook itself.

    Until next time, keep it *Sassy*

    • Amy Breckenridge February 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      i think sassy needs to get his own blog!!!

      • Ashley Sullivan February 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

        That’s what I said! His comments are longer than my posts!

Leave a Reply

girlmeetspaleo

forget the grains, pass the bacon

lovelifelymphoma

When life gives you lymphoma, love reigns supreme

Sophieologie

Society as Sophie Sees it.

Seth Adam Smith

Life Is Worth Living

Book Body Soul

All things that nourish

Dear Martini

Bite-sized cooking videos -- one technique at a time!

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

The Naughty Mommy

Even good moms deserve to be a little bad...

Equatours Travel News

Our journeys are as unique as you are.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Cupcakes & Couture

And all things lovely...

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Hot2Molly

Pop culture is my jam

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

color me simple

A place where the simple things are my best things.

For the Little Black Dress

Because we all deserve to silence a room

the loud and clear

Yep. You heard right.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

